Governance Council

The Governance Council is the governing body of the statewide collaborative and is responsible for setting overall policy and direction. This may include decisions regarding programmatic priorities, resource allocation, confidentiality of Information collected, state-level legislative proposals and sustainability.

The Council meets semi-annually and consists of presidents from member institutions of higher education. These college and university presidents are committed to making significant progress toward reducing the problem of college drinking and related problems at their institutions and statewide. The members are self-selecting and serve on a voluntary basis.


Chancellor Jay A. Perman, MD
University System of Maryland

President Marylou Yam, PhD
Notre Dame of Maryland University

JHU library


President Cynthia Bambara, PhD
Allegany College of Maryland

President Aminta H. Breaux, PhD
Bowie State University

President Ronald Nowaczyk, PhD
Frostburg State University

President Richard Midcap, PhD
Garrett College

President Kent Devereaux, MFA
Goucher College

President Andrea Chapdelaine, PhD
Hood College

President Ron Daniels, JD, LLM
Johns Hopkins University

President Terrence M. Sawyer, JD
Loyola University Maryland

President Julia Jasken, PhD
McDaniel College

President Carolyn Ringer Lepre, PhD
Salisbury University

President Nora Demleitner, JD
St. John’s College

President Tuajuanda C. Jordan, PhD
St. Mary’s College of Maryland

President Mark R. Ginsburg, PhD
Towson University

Superintendent Vice Admiral Yvette M. Davids
United States Naval Academy

President Valerie Sheares Ashby, PhD
University of Maryland Baltimore County

President Darryll J. Pines, PhD
University of Maryland College Park

President Heidi M. Anderson, PhD
University of Maryland Eastern Shore

President Kurt L. Schmoke, JD
University of Maryland Eastern Shore

Share This